OGPSS - Course Development


Course Development

 There are two types of learning programmes that we develop.

icon large integration1: Skills programmes
These are vocationally-based and are made up of a set of Unit Standards, as registered in the National Qualification Framework (NQF), which result in a specific job competence. This program has a large practical component where preparation for assessment of the learner’s competency takes place in the actual workplace through weekly assignments. The final assessments are a combination of theory, practical, simulation and workplace assessments collected in a portfolio of evidence.

The skills programmes will be registered with the Services SETA for full accreditation. The accreditation process ensures that learning institutions follow all the prescribed policies and procedures for course development, facilitator and assessor competency and the required quality standards to deliver world-class programmes. Furthermore, the accreditation results in the learners being certified directly by the Services SETA and registered against the NQF. Short courses OGPSS will work with the client to custom-develop, plan and administer courses that can be run over a small number of days to impart specific skills or knowledge to learners.

According to the Services SETA, short courses are not necessarily aligned to specific Unit Standards, have no formal assessment and are not certified by the SETA. However, we will use our experience in developing skills programmes to structure the short courses so that they also align with the prescribed ETQA standards of facilitation and assessments, thereby ensuring a high level of quality for our client’s training needs. OGPSS will develop and deliver learner and facilitator course materials for all courses to guide the learning process.


2: Assessments
These are developed and carried out in the context of Outcomes Based Education and Training, where the emphasis is on the end products of a learner’s knowledge. This is accomplished by means of assessment criteria that measure applied competence in the form of expected outcomes, as defined in the Unit Standards. Applied competence consists of foundational, practical and reflexive components that respectively demonstrate the application of understanding of the learner, the ability to perform a set of tasks, and show that the learner is able to adapt to changed circumstances appropriately and responsibly.

next next2

course dev1 design effect2 discussion1 increase2 users folder black2 StrainerCrossOpen2 group2

You are here: Home Inclusa Service Course Development